Wormley Cricket Club


Cricket Club will be 70 years old in 2017 having been reformed in 1947 with the help of a £20 loan from Mr. Ernie Anderson, who was the landlord of the Queen's Head public house in the village.
However cricket was being played in the village between the wars and probably earlier than that. The discovery of a notebook about ten years ago sheds some light on the fortunes of the club in the period between 1921 and 1927. In 1921 the club had 21 honorary members and 27 playing members. 


Amongst the names listed were some which have been associated with Wormley Cricket Club for many years including Dear, Hurry and Dent. The annual subscriptions were three shillings and sixpence and two shillings and sixpence and the total expenditure for the season came to £16 6s - 3 d. This included payments of 18s 6d to the groundsman, lOs 6d to the scorer and £3 9s for refreshments for the season.

Unfortunately the club membership appears to have dwindled by 1927 and there are no further entries in the book after that date. It is possible that the club may have folded, or that further records were kept in a new book. 


In 2016 the first team and the second team entered the Herts and Essex Cricket League, with the first team ending up as champions of division 5.


Chairman: Ben Stevenson 07769157888 ben.stevenson@vanhage.co.uk
Vice Chairman: Tom Aylott 07889256892 tom_aylott@hotmail.com
Secretary: Derek Barltrop 07985 458205 derekbarltrop@hotmail.co.uk
Treasurer:   Derek Barltrop 07985 458205  
  Malcolm Spinks 07919 128774 malcybar@yahoo.co.uk
  Martin Mountford   mountfm@googlemail.com
First Team Captain Mirza Baig    
Vice Captain William Petts    
Team Manager Keith Spinks 07974 974287 keith.spinks@neopost.co.uk
Second Team Captain Bimal Yainne 07789 247559 bimalsy@yahoo.com
Vice Captain Kieth Spinks 07974 974287 keith.spinks@neopost.co.uk
Print | Sitemap
© Wormley Sports Club